Adding Users to Your PoliteMail Account (v4.5)

Settings-Users

As the PoliteMail Admin user, start from PoliteMail Account Settings, and select the Users tab.

PoliteMail for Outlook is licensed on a per-seat basis, so one User may send from multiple email addresses (e.g. their own personal email address and a shared mailbox), but each person who sends PoliteMail messages from any email address (even a shared mailbox address) requires a PoliteMail for Outlook license.

One user may install the PoliteMail for Outlook software on multiple machines for their own use (e.g. a desktop and a laptop), however multiple people may not share one license.

New User

To Add A New User:

You will see a list of PoliteMail Users currently within your account, and on the top bar will see a count of available user licenses which you may assign. To assign one of these licenses, click the New button, then enter the new User’s name and email address information.

New User-2

There are three user types available, Admin, Manager and User.

Admin users may assign/reassign licenses, may access all other user’s tracked send and results reports, and see/modify any other user’s templates or lists.

Managers of a Group (Region and/or Business Unit) may access user reports within their group.

Users have access to reports for their own sends and any content (templates/images) or lists they create, or any content or lists shared by other users within their group. Users may explicitly share templates and lists with other users within their group.

Learn more about PoliteMail Groups

Note that when the Send Setup Email box is set to Yes, PoliteMail will automatically generate an email which you can send to the User, containing their PoliteMail Server connection credentials (email, registration key, and server name).

You can choose to send the setup email in HTML or text format, and include the software download link within the email or simply send the credentials.

Send Setup Email

To Reassign A License To A New User:

A PoliteMail license may be reassigned at any time. Simply double-click on any user name within the list, and reassign the license by editing the name and email address within the dialog, reset the password key, then click save.  When Send Setup Email is set to Yes, PoliteMail will automatically generate an email to the new user email address which contains their PoliteMail credentials. Note: The previous user’s data (including tracked sends and results, templates, lists, images, etc.) will remain in the account unless manually deleted and become accessible to this newly assigned user.

To Reset A Registration Key

If a PoliteMail user loses their registration key, or they get a new machine and need to reinstall PoliteMail but do not have a copy of their existing registration key, the Admin may reset the registration key by double-clicking the user name, and clicking the Reset button within the Modify User dialog box.

To Delete a User (free up a license)

Select a user or user(s), then press the X button on the menu bar.

IMPORTANT NOTE:  When you delete a user, you will lose the tracking data associated with that user (all their tracked sends and results).  To keep this data, reassign the license to a different email address instead of deleting.

Deleted users will  also lose access to any owned templates, images, smart attachments.

Before deleting the user, ownership should be set to all users, with sharing turned on before the user is deleted.

Assigning Users to Groups:

Users may also be organized into different groups (Regions and/or Business units) which control how content, lists and reports are shared.